top of page
  • Olga & Ewelina

Meghan Markle

“I just didn’t see a solution. I would sit up at night, and I was just, like, I don’t understand how all of this is being churned out. I realized that it was all happening just because I was breathing. I was really ashamed to say it at the time and ashamed to have to admit it to Harry, especially, because I know how much loss he’s suffered.” said Meghan Markle, former actress and a member of the British royal family in an interview with Oprah Winfrey released on March 7th, 2021."But I knew that if I didn't say it, that I would do it. I just didn't want to be alive anymore. And that was a very clear and real and frightening constant thought. And I remember how he [Harry] just cradled me." she continued.


"I went to one of the most senior people to get help. And I share this because, there are so many people who are afraid to voice that they need help, and I know how hard it is to not just voice it but to be told no."


Meghan then added, "I remember this conversation like it was yesterday because they said: my heart goes out to you because I see how bad it is, but there’s nothing we can do to protect you because you’re not a paid employee of the institution.”


"This wasn't a choice. This was emails and begging for help, saying very specifically I am concerned for my mental welfare. But nothing was ever done, so we had to find a solution."

Mental health resources are a necessity that should be accessible to everyone, regardless of their social standing. Denying somebody the help they require is barbaric and inhumane. Due to the stigma surrounding struggles with depression and suicidal thoughts many people do not feel safe or comfortable reaching out. Even if they voice the difficulties they are facing, confrontation with negative feedback can be terrifying, especially if you are extremely vulnerable.


This situation proves the importance of support from close ones (in this case Harry), who have an enormous impact on our wellbeing. We should all educate ourselves on helping close ones get through tough situations and treating everybody with kindness and compassion.




Sources:

  • Quinn, Ben. “Meghan and Harry's Oprah Interview: the Key Quotes.” The Guardian, Guardian News and Media, 8 Mar. 2021,

  • Dickson, EJ. “Meghan Markle's Suicidal Thoughts While Pregnant Shed Light on Silent Public Health Crisis.” Rolling Stone, Rolling Stone, 8 Mar. 2021,

  • Hallemann, Caroline. “Meghan Markle Opens Up About Her Mental Health Struggles During Her Conversation With Oprah.” Town & Country, Town & Country, 8 Mar. 2021,

  • Johnson, Jamie. “Key Quotes from Meghan and Harry's Oprah Interview on Mental Health, Family Relations and Archie's Skin Tone.” The Telegraph, Telegraph Media Group, 10 Mar. 2021,


Comments


bottom of page